Tags

,

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” Mark Twain

 

It seems fairly apt that, as I write this post, the wind is howling with the ferocity of a lion outside the window and the rain is pounding against the panes as it did on the night that I came to live in this house. And so, as I arrived, I shall leave this place with a spring in my step swept along by the wind as I leave my safe harbour for unknown territories. (Well, Essex to be truthful  but it is an unknown territory to me) I am not disappointed that I made the decision to live here. However I am very glad to be taking steps to move forward in the next big adventure that is my life.

We are heading off to Essex and I will be starting work in London next week. How excitiing is that? At a time of my life when most people are moviing out of London, I am doing the opposite. But then, I never did do things the conventional way.

Tonight I am on the edge of a new life.


It scares me and thrills me all at the same time.

Yesterday Moo and I said goodbye to his favourite beach with a little bit of beachcombing and just a slight sadness as we took in the view of Aberystwyth in the distance.

 

Today we enjoyed an extra long linger in the forest despite the pouring rain. We fell over a squirrel and watched the red kites soaring in the sky above as the whistle of the steam train heading to Cwm Rheidol sounded in the distance.

Tomorrow we will wave good bye to our village until Christmas (when we will probably return for the festivities)

and set sail for new horizons in Herman. 

I will miss the friend that I made in the last few weeks but I know there will be lots of new friends waiting for us.

 

And so we are throwing off bowlines and setting sail.

See you on the other side.

