well what a beautiful autumn day it has been here today. I love the changing of the seasons. I love them so much that I passed up an opportunity to move abroad because when it came to it, I just couldnt imagine life without the bright autumn days and the frosty winter mornings. The day started in such an uplifting way when I headed out to the forest for my daily ramble with Moo. I was greeted by the honking of geese and when I gazed up above there were simply dozens of geese heading north. All honking to each other to keep up the motivation. Some dropping out of formation to bring up the stragglers. It got me to thinking about some of the lovely people that I have been conversing with in diaryland at MSE and how they are much like the geese, when I am straggling behind they drop back to pull me up. So nice to have people who I have never met taking time out to help and advise about things that I am trying to learn about.

Life in the country just gets better every day.

Now I thought that tonight I would share my recipe for Tibetan Roast. As a vegetarian I am always looking for new recipes. This is one that I found in a book that I bought from Amazon The Vegetarian Kitchen by Sarah Brown and is now one of my most favourite special meals.

Ingredients

  • 1 tsp oil 
  • 4oz(110g) buckwheat or barley
  • 4oz onions 
  • 8 oz mushrooms 
  • 1.4 pint red wine 
  • 1.4 pint of stock 
  • 4 oz (110g) walnuts 
  • 8 oz spinach 
  • 2 tsp fresh rosemary or 1tsp dry
  • 2stp fresh sage or 1 tsp dry 
  • 1 egg 
  • 1 tsp butter 
Method 
Heat oven to mark 5 (190c)
heat oil, fry wheat or barley for 2-3 mins 
add onions and continue to cook for few mins 
add mushrooms and cook for further 5 mins with lid on 
add wine and stock and bring to the boil 
reduce heat and simmer (20 mins for wheat 50 mins for barley)
add more stock if needed 
Meanwhile 
grind walnuts 
wash spinach  and cok in heavy bottomed pan without water for 6 mins 
drain off any exess liquid and chop spinach
when wheat/barley is cooked remove from pan and allow to cool 
stir in ground walnuts/spinach/rosemary and sage 
mix in the lightly beaten egg and season 
press mixture into a 1lb loaf tin bake for 50 – 60 minutes until the top is golden brown and feels firm to touch 
Can be served hot with roasted vegetables and mushroom and sherry sauce or cold with a nice green salad. 
Enjoy. 
