Living in a small village nestled at the foot of Pendam Mountain and just seven miles away from the University Town of Aberystwtyh affords me lots of opportunities to live out my dreams of the simple life that I always craved growing up. I think my love of mountains must be genetic. I was born in a small town at the foot of Kinderscout in Derbyshire but moved away from there when I was only 3 years old. I  longed to live in the country all of my life and I finally followed my dreams 2 years ago.

Trefeurig is a small community whose history is steeped in mining.  Award winning  film “Sleep Furiously” was filmed here in the community over a period of 12 months. The award winning film really captures the sleepiness of the area.

From mountains to sea, from village to busy scholastic town every day can be as different as you want it to be.

This weekend I spent in the mountains. Hiking to Penrhyn Coch Lakes and trekking in the footsteps of the  silver miners that once lived and worked in the mines of Cwmsymlog.  I get carried away with the romance of the history. It is easy to have an over romantic view of lovely peaceful lives when I have the luxury of being able to take the trek up the mountain in a car and so easy to forget how harsh the living conditions would have been in the days when the miners lived and worked the mountains. After all it is just 9 months since we were snowed in here and I live at the bottom of the mountain.

Max enjoying the trek up through the forest. 

By far the best day of the week is Sunday. I love Sundays, none of that misery because Monday is round the corner for me. I have never understood why people don’t like Sundays.

 Pendam Mountain in West Wales is a beautiful mountain inhabited by the most glorious birds of prey. The red kites swoop in the sky constantly and they soar on the thermals high in the sky above the village. By far the best place to view these glorious birds is the top of Pendam Mountain where they gather in the sky at 3pm each day as they are fed at the Nant yr Arian station. The mountain is a place of wonder and sadness. Long gone are the days when the mines were at their most active and a thriving community lived there, now it is a place for ramblers and mountain bikers to inhabit the once busy roads around  and about. I love walking there, it is so peaceful a place to think, to be.

choices, choices 

just one of the lovely lakes 

It is Wales not Scotland 

driftwood on the side of the lake 

lily pads waiting to burst into bloom 

sheep on the hillside 

so much fun 

long left behind, I wonder who lived here

A very remote home no longer inhabited 

time to return home as the clouds roll in. 

