Tags

, , , , , ,

Johannes Chrysostomus Wolfgangus Theophilus Mozart  (Wolfgang Amade Mozart to you and me) was born in Salzburg on 27th January 1756 and throughout his short life became a prolific composer, eventually settling and ending his days in Vienna. Merisi over at Merisi’s Vienna for Beginners has posted a beautiful blog all about his resting place. A beautiful post with stunning photographs, I think you will agree.

A book by Don Campbell called “The Mozart Effect” has condensed the worlds research on beneficial effects of certain types of  music. These include, less stress, more intelligence, faster healing and improved concentration and clarity. Research from Stanford University suggests that humans perform better in exams after listening to a certain piece of a Mozart Sonata. I can identify with all of that.

Salzburg hosts two museums dedicated to Mozart, the first being his birthplace and the second the home he lived in later. It was on a visit to Salzburg last year that we decided to pay homage to the great man and we stopped off to take a look around the birthplace. The museum has existed since 1881 when the Mozart Foundation purchased the building. It houses items such as Mozart’s violin that he played as a child and some famous portraits of the man himself.

On a cold winters day it was a welcome relief to head indoors.

A view from the street

Climbing the stairs I was suddenly struck by the reality that these were the very stairs that Mozart would have climbed hundreds of times in his youth. Call me an old romantic but I cannot help but get shivers when I realise that I am walking in the footsteps of a genius.

The museum was very busy that day. The queue was long and the wait  to get in was about 20 minutes. Once inside though it was easy to spend time in each of the rooms, there were guides sitting quietly in the corner of each room. They did not rush anybody and were there just to answer questions if people had any. Now I would like to see that happen on a busy day in Hampton Court Palace or the likes. I spent a good couple of hours in there, drinking in the history, studying manuscripts, listening to recordings and pouring over diaries and letters. Despite the businesses and the numbers of people I definitely felt the Mozart Effect as I spent time really looking and concentrating on the things before me. I do have a tendency to rush around and museum and treat it like another thing that I must do but not on this day. I would highly recommend a visit to anybody visiting Salzburg

Afterwards maybe a visit to one of Mozart’s favourite coffee shops Cafe Tomaselli for divine cakes and a bit of people watching is in order.

But more about food in Salzburg another day.

