As a small girl I was sometimes referred to as “wonder woman” not because I was strong, beautiful or possessed great powers….. not THAT wonder woman 


Source: google.ca via cheri on Pinterest



Oh no, more the “I wonder” Woman. I used to drive my Mum mad with all of my questions. I would look at something and think “I wonder” and that wondering would lead to so many questions. 


Recently I have been reading this book……..

Source: amazon.com via cheri on Pinterest

and one of the things that she raises is the way in which we dont take the time to wonder as we should.


That set me wondering……… what exactly is the definition of the word wonder. So off I went to my trusted search engine and came up with 

won·der

  [wuhn-der]  Show IPA

verb (used without object)

1.

to think or speculate curiously: to wonder about the origin of thesolar system.
2.

to be filled with admiration, amazement, or awe; marvel(often followed by at ): He wondered at her composure in such acrisis.
3.

to doubtI wonder if she’ll really get here.

When was the last time I wondered? What did I wonder about? Did I doubt things, did I stand in awe as I watched nature, was I curious about the world around me? So many things to ponder and wonder about I decided to do just as she suggested and become conscious of my wonderment, record them and start to take the time to just think about the things that made me wonder. 
Simply becoming aware and conscious of this led me to realising that I do still wonder often…… the problem is that I never take the time to stop, think about and  ask the questions that fall out of that wonderment. What a waste of wonderment that is.   


 How many times have we said “Just because” to those little ones who are asking questions that we just don’t have the time to answer or, even worse, the inclination to take the time to think about the question and evaluate what that question actually means. 


As Albert Einstein so rightly says 

He who can no longer pause to wonder and stand rapt in awe, is as good as dead; his eyes are closed.Albert Einstein



So the next time you think I wonder……… remember it is ok to stop and think it through. I guarantee that you will start to embrace the opportunities that are around you, you will start to appreciate little things in life and that, in turn, will help to make you happier in yourself. 


Today I stood and watched a charm of Goldfinches that had arrived at my feeder and wondered where they may have come from. After standing and watching them for several minutes I decided to find the answer to some of the questions that popped into my head. Unfortunately my Mum is no longer around to harass with those questions so I headed to the internet. I  discovered that they are particularly fond of niger seeds and sunflower seeds. That they have recovered from a serious decline in the 70s and 80s and that  Antonio Vivaldi’s Concerto in D major for Flute “Il Gardellino” has the flute immitating the Goldfinch. A piece of music that I will now wonder about as I try to work out which part is the goldfinch.
So you see, a sense of wonderment is a marvellous thing indeed. 


