Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

…… it’s a dangerous business Frodo, going out of your door. You step on the road, and if you don’t keep your feet, there’s no knowing where you might be swept off to” 


Sometimes it is fun to step onto that road and to lose your feet.  

I have longed for a camper van since I was knee high to a grass hopper. The fact that I also share my life with Max (see his blog at  Great Dane Wales) and always wanted a camper has nothing whatsoever to do with Scooby Doo (although I do quite fancy myself as a Velma). To say that I have camper van envy is an understatement. Ok I know its not cool to be envious of other people but what can I say, I just couldn’t help myself. 


Whenever I was out and about I would see camper vans, I would have to take photos, drool over them, talk to the owners, 



T25s are pretty cool
Source: aidan.co.uk via cheri on Pinterest

The Samba is rather pretty

I would read about them, buy the magazines, watch Campervan Crisis on t.v. Yes I slowly became obsessed. 





But it couldn’t just be any camper van, oh no it had to be a VW camper van. 


Changes in my circumstances meant that I was lucky enough to realise a lifetime ambition this month and so once I had made the decision that this was going to be the year that I followed my passion it was simply a case of tracking down the perfect van for me. 


Much like house buying I found myself saying “no this just doesn’t have the right feel for me” I passed over a few vans that were in even better condition than Hermann (sshh I don’t want to hurt his feelings) but they just didn’t feel right. 


Finally I tracked down a dealer in North Wales who imports vans from Europe. Off we tootled to take a look at the three he had. 


Arriving at the farm was an adventure in itself, up a very steep track, unadopted roads and finally turning into the yard where the whole landscape opened up before me. Breathtaking views are an understatement. 







Shouting us over to the sheds the dealer pushed back the heavy sliding doors and into the gloom we wandered. There standing all proud in the corner was Hermann (he wasn’t called Hermann at that point though) looking all shiny and cheery. I made a beeline for him, slid back his side door and stepped inside. Sitting down on the seat I leaned back and I just knew……. this was to be my new “home from home”. I sighed deeply and sat for a few minutes before realising that I really should show some interest in actually looking at the bodywork, the engine, the sills, the bits of rust. Who cared? Not me he was going to be mine regardless. Silly I know but when you know, you know. 


Meet Hermann 





And so, my life was about to change. My job finished on 31st May, I walked away from the office with a very big sense of relief. We collected Hermann (still at this point waiting to be christened) on 2nd June and started to have fun right from the off. Driving around in Hermann makes me smile, people wave to us and toot their horns. We arrive at places and people come to talk to us. Ok so it helps that Max clambers out of the back too which involved much hilarity. 
That first weekend as we drove along I read all of the paperwork. It became obvious that Hermann has been a much loved family van. He was owned by the same family from new. And I could not believe my eyes when I looked up the area of Germany that he originates from to discover that it is just over the border from where we aim to make our life in Austria in the not too distant future. So we will be taking him home again eventually.  


We have already been out and about having a few little trips in him. I will be aiming to post some travel news and cooking tips on here as well as letting Max do a bit over on his blog. Who knows it may grow into its own little blog. We shall see. 





For a taster I will be telling you all about the Lake District and Cooking in a Camper van pretty soon. 



