Linking up with the simple woman’s daybook 

Outside my window a small feral kitten is stalking a frog in the long grass. He leaps and twists and dives as if he is Tom Daley in the Olympics Finals. Maybe he has been watching the tv through somebody’s patio doors. I love seeing him, I think he is a him but I actually have no idea. He visits every day and meows at me through the doors until I come to say hello. Coco, my African Grey parrot, now has his meow off to tee, I guess that shows how often he visits. Max is not so impressed. I think he worries that I will be inviting him in to stay

I am thinking about growing the colour out of my hair and letting the grey sing out. Now anybody who knows me will be shocked as this is the one thing that I have always been happy to spend my money on. However, as I have been unable to find a hairdresser that I am comfortable with since moving the grey is winning the battle. As I become more engaged with the simple things in life and aware of the harm that chemicals can do to a body I am thinking why not give it a go, whats the worst that can happen. If I don’t like it I can always colour it later. Right? 

I am thankful to be able to take some time off over the summer. However I do now realise that I did love work, the routine it brought, the people that I met and the chance to learn new things. With this in my mind I am thinking that I might be inclined to find an new challenge after the summer. Not sure yet what that will be but watch this space. 

In the kitchen the sink is sparkling, the washing machine is whirring and the kettle is shouting for me to make one more cup of tea. I am in shock though, as the last of my home made elderflower cordial is gone!  Worse still there are no elderflowers left in my usual places. I do try to leave flowers in order to make sure that the berries can flourish but I am guessing that a few other people have discovered my favourite place for picking them. 

I am creating a new home from the one that I currently live in. I want to make it feel more homely but on a shoestring budget. I am reading up lots of shabby chic blogs, I have started rifle through boxes of my possessions from my last home. They have been packed away for over three years and it is exciting to open the boxes and find my long loved treasures. I don’t like lots of clutter but some things are very special to me. 

I am hoping that the rain stays away as the sky is a white out with no sign of the sun. It is hot and clammy. Maybe we will have a thunder storm, then I won’t mind the rain so much. I love the sunshine, it makes my heart sing. Thunderstorms are exciting but trying to decorate in such clammy weather is hard going.  

I am looking forward to a flying visit to London this week to collect my tickets for the Last Night of the Proms. I look forward to the Proms every year. The Last Night is such fun as all the regular Arena and Gallery Prommers dress up in national costumes, Victorian outfits, and their best bib and tucker. Food is shared between everybody on the steps outside the Royal Albert Hall and champagne (or simple fizzy drinks) flows as we celebrate another fantastic season and say our goodbyes to people who we have been fortunate enough to spend our summer with. 

I am learning to be patient. There have been many things that I have needed to be patient about lately. I have learned that I seem to be less patient as I grow older. I have less time for people who cannot make decisions, want to grab all of my attention and generally drain me of energy. I have learned in the last few weeks that these people are no different to how they have always been but rather it is my attitude towards them that has changed. Therefore I will learn to be and practice more patient. 

Around the house we are decorating the room that was, until recently, my home office. It is time we had a guest room where guests can lay there heads after a long fun filled day at the seaside. 

I am pondering how to tackle the jungle that is my garden. It has not been touched since the house was built eight years ago and it is time to do something about it. I hasten to add that I have not lived here for eight years. Of the three years that I have lived here I have been working away from home a lot and had no time. It is not a garden of weeds, rather an area of wild flowers……. well, weeds are only plants in a place where you might not want them. I am learning to accept that the garden might not be how I want it but there are some rather pretty flowers in amongst the long grasses. After all some people spend years cultivating wild gardens don’t they?

A favourite quote for today has to be ” a little garden in which to walk, and an immensity in which to dream. At one’s feet that which can be cultivated and plucked; over head that which one can study and meditate upon: some flowers on earth and all the stars in the sky” I think it was Victor Hugo but don’t quote me on that one. 

 

One of my favorite things, I have come to realise, is being outdoors. Being able to sit in the fresh air and to think in peace and quiet. I miss my garden at my last house where I used to sit cross legged on the patio listening to the trickle of the water fall,  feeding  the koi in the pond and watching them dart along under the water. I miss being mesmerised by the dragonflies skimming the water, the birds perching on the rocks of the waterfall to drink and the frogs leaping from lily pad to lily pad. I miss the heady aroma of the roses, the beautiful colours of the water irises and the sound of the church bells ringing in the distance as i just sit on the patio and daydream. Time to recreate this garden then. 

A few plans for the rest of the week 

  •  a trip in Herman 
  • take Max to his home boarding for a few days 
  •  Meeting one of  my best friends for tea. 
  • A couple of days in London 

A peek into my day might scare you as I am currently up to my eyes in paint and rollers and the whole house is upside down. So instead have  a peek into how I hope my day will be spent on Wednesday 

Tea on the lawn at Victoria and Albert Museum London 
