A friend of mine introduced me to the phrase “It suits me”. I love it. 


This friend of mine is somebody whom I admire a lot. She does’t take any messing, she knows what she wants and she refuses to conform to other people’s expectations of how she should live her life. You may think that sounds a tad selfish but believe me when I tell you that she is also one of the most caring people I have ever had the pleasure (not) to meet in (real) life. She is also well loved and highly respected as everybody knows where they stand with her, that they can ask for her opinion and know that they will be given a very straight answer. If you expect to be wrapped in cotton wool then look elsewhere for support. 


Yes indeed, this is a lady whom I have had the privilege to meet in cyber land via forums and blogs. She is kind, considerate and forthright. She has made me think about things from new perspectives. What I thank her for the most is the phrase “It suits me to/not to” and to use it without guilt, embarrassment or fear. This simple phrase is changing my life. 


Today I have implemented the ethos of Suiting Myself. When I got up this morning I had a list as long as my arm of things that I needed to do. Then my phone pinged to remind me of a diary appointment. It said that today was my Suits Me day. 


What, you might ask is that?  Let me tell you. It all started when I was searching for ways to make myself happier. I had read books, watched videos, been to seminars and all to no avail. I was stuck in a mire of work and endless treadmill lifestyle of chores. Then I found it. Ok, it was another book but not like any other book. How to Be Happy and Do Everything by Peter Jones talked about all of the things that I had read about but in a down to earth, simple style. I didn’t learn anything new (sorry Peter), oh no. In fact he just talked about things that I knew how to do. I did them everyday in work. My work life was organised and running to a schedule. I never missed a deadline, I never stressed over a piece of work. So why did it never occur to me to use these strategies and apply them to my personal life. DOH! 


There are three things he suggests that you do. Book yourself Now days, Goals Days and Boxing Days. If you want to know what they are then head over to the website and find out all about them. 

I couldn’t get to grips with the term Boxing Day. After all, I still want to keep that as a once a year kind of day. And so I settled on Suits Me day. 

 

Despite having a list of things to do I went ahead with my suits me day. Simply put I had no plans for the day but decided what to do next as the day went along. It appears that it didn’t suit me to do any of the things on my list. Instead it suited me to 

 

  • Go walking at Ynys Las beach with Moo. Take some photos and enjoy the sunshine 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • Next I decided to do a bit of accessory shopping for my guest room which I am in the process of decorating. 
  • Then a snuggle on the sofa watching the Lake House (sob) whilst eating chocolate and drinking Dandelion and Burdock
  • A wander to the forest to sit by the river and listen to the birds 
  • Back home and into the bedroom to put the finishing touches to it. 

As I was pottering around in the room I noticed the light change and it occurred to me that I had never been in the room at this time of day before, despite living here for 3 years. I used to use it as my office. It was then that I realised the sun was setting over the hills at the back of the house. The sky was ablaze with burning oranges and reds, it was glorious. I rushed to get the camera. The photos do not do it justice. 

 

And now, snuggled up on the sofa again, I am listening to Dave Brubeck and the clicking of the keys as Moo snores gently with his paw resting on my foot, safe in the knowledge that I am close by. What a glorious Suits Me day I have had. I feel invigorated and ready to face the world again tomorrow. 

 

When was the last time you had a day of suiting yourself?  

 

 

 

Finally – here is the view from my window. How lovely. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

