Tags

, , , ,

It would appear that I have been rather ignoring my blog of late.

In my defense I have been very busy settling into my new life in Essex (I promise to tell more about my adventures here soon) and commuting over 3 hours per day to London for my new job. The commute is interesting to say the least, my views consist of this mostly

image

but as the days grow longer I now have the pleasure of this view as my journey draws to an end

London Skyline

I am  lucky enough to, currently, be working right next to Regents Park so I get to have some lovely lunchtime walks. More on that in later posts but here is a sneak preview.

IMG_3840

I am very fortunate to have met some truly wonderful women via an online forum and one of these lovely ladies came to my rescue when I had to make a fast move to start work in London. I needed somewhere that I could bring Max with me and she was more than happy to let me stay in her house whilst she is away in Scotland. I could never thank her enough.

Moving quickly meant that I arrived to the house with nothing more than a suitcase and my two parker knoll fireside chairs. With little furniture in the house I have found it difficult to settle properly. Not all a bad thing as I am only here temporarily.

A few wI love home making. I have come to realise that it is one of my most favourite things in the whole world and to  furnish my home on a budget,  finding bargains and making my home cosy gives me great satisfaction and a sense of purpose.

A few weeks ago I made a trip to Ikea to buy a new sofa. It came as a bit of a shock to me to have to drive for a whole hour to get to the nearest store. After all, I used to live just 15 minutes drive away from the first ever Ikea store to be opened in the UK. That was before I moved to Wales but then I never had a need to nip to Ikea when there, which was lucky as my nearest store was well over 3 hours drive away.

Never having to build my own sofa before  I have to say I was rather pleased with myself when I turned this

IMG_3572

Into this

IMG_3577

Max seemed to appreciate my hard work. Sshhh, dont tell Mr about us cwtching  on the sofa while watching Come Dine with Me.

IMG_3829

And what better place to settle down on a Sunday afternoon with a cup of tea and the latest book from my favourite author.

Cecelia Aherne

Whilst browsing  facebook recently  I was introduced to Morena Artina who was having a giveaway of this lovely cushion.

I very rarely feel the need to spend a lot of money on something but this cushion was so beautiful that I really wanted to invest in it. After all, it is a limited edition and a real investment piece. So, rather than waiting to see if I won the give away I headed over to her ebay shop and purchased it. I did also try to bid on a few paintings but I was pipped at the post on those. I now eagerly wait the postman delivering this.

A wet and miserable day has turned into a lovely cosy day when I have appreciated being at home. My batteries are recharged ready for this weeks commuting.

When was the last time you really appreciated being home and simply sat and relaxed?

