Tags

,

Anybody who knows me well will understand why I felt moved to write this blog post. I adore elephants. I have a lifelong ambition to see elephants in the wild. My friend Sally was lucky enough to do this and I adore her photos. I hate to see elephants in zoos. It breaks my heart to see them in enclosures. I have a healthy respect for elephants. They are magnificent creatures, they love, they grieve and they have a wonderful sense of family.

http://

 

 

Baby elephants are the cutest

http://

Source: photoxyz.com via cheri on Pinterest

 

 

Imagine that baby being taken from her mother when she is still suckling. Then being transported to a zoo where she will be placed in an enclosure alone and being left there for 36 years for tourists to come along and oggle her. Coo over her and think what a wonderful beast she is. Then they will walk away and forget about her. Their eyes closed to the reality of her life. What? You dont think that would happen? Well, read on.

Meet Mali. A beautiful Asian Elephant who has spent her whole life in a zoo as a lone elephant.

http://

 

 

Thanks to the work of Dr Sheldrick Mali has a chance at a new life in a sanctuary.  Dr Sheldrick heads up the David Sheldrick wildlife trust which has rehabilitated over 150 orphaned elephants. 40 of these are now grown and living with wild herds in the Tsavo National Park. Dr Sheldrick has joined the call to free Mali from the Manila zoo that she has lived in alone for 36 years.

You can help Mali find a new life by signing the petition here. I have already signed it. I have joined the facebook page and I shall be watching this story with great interest.

I would like to thank Sue at Our New Life in the Country for bringing this story to my attention. Whilst I don’t have 2000 followers like Sue I do hope that my followers will take the time to read the story and consider signing the petition, sharing the story on your facebook page, twitter feed, google+ and any other social media you can think of. Every name helps.

Come on, lets help Mali to meet her peers and to live the rest of her life in a happy, calm and natural environment.

I make no apologies if this post offends people. Sometimes life isn’t all happy clappy. Sometimes we have to open our eyes and our hearts.

“To separate an Elephant from others for life is immeasurably cruel and counter-productive to both the emotional and social wellbeing of the animal, with possible adverse physical damage as well. I therefore appeal, on behalf of Elephant Mali, who cannot speak for herself, to afford her access to others, and in so doing heal her lonely soul.”

Dr Daphne Sheldrick

 

