Tags

, , , , ,

Around St Paul’s Cathedral my current “home” area.

This area was  named  Londinium by the Romans and parts of the old City Walls still exist, uncovered during the bombings in the second world war. 

IMG_4974 IMG_4975

 

There are lots of little alleyways and back streets to be explored 

old london town

old london town

Always interesting places to explore and new things to find and most of this is away from the tourists

Maybe a very old pub IMG_5132

in an area where, I discovered, William Shakespeare used to frequent

IMG_5136

 

Sometimes, I come across rather elegant parties and I can’t help but take a peek 

elegant party

elegant party 

Other times it might be an ancient graveyard, now courtyard to an up market block of flats 

quiet places of reflection

quiet places of reflection

It might just be a boring old bike (although there is nothing boring about a bike) bike

BUT my most favourite views are of St Paul’s Cathedral and Temple Gate

IMG_5422 IMG_4915 IMG_4933

 

And how lucky was I this week when this was the view from my bed. 

a view from my bed

a view from my bed

What areas are your favourite around where you live and what new things have you discovered about your area recently?

