50 Fabulous Things

Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

“Living is like tearing through a museum. Not until later do you really start absorbing what you saw, thinking about it, looking it up in a book, and remembering – because you can’t take it all in at once.” Audrey Hepburn

Last year as my 49th birthday approached I decided to really begin to celebrate my life. What better way to do that than use my 50th year from beginning to end to try new things, celebrate the simple things in life and make time for friends and family. I came up with the idea of doing at least 50 fabulous things and to keep a journal.

Due to some ill health my life came to a complete standstill for 2 of those 6 months which meant that I had not completed anything during that time. I am a little behind with where I hoped to be but it wasn’t about putting pressure on myself. It was about learning to stop, and think, consider and plan to incorporate things into my life that I would love to spend my time doing.

IMG_6237

Here is a post that I wrote back then on another blog that I flirted with for a while. You can now check out my new page above to find links to blog posts about those things that I remember to write about. Hope you enjoy it and please do let me know the kind of things you might consider doing.

Copied from elsewhere

As I celebrate the end of my 49th year and  I enter into my 50th year I wanted to celebrate my half century by taking the year to do 50 fabulous things. It might be a new adventure, it might be reading a genre of book that I wouldnt normally give a thought to. I may do something simple like plant a bulb, watch a film that I have been longing to for some time. Whatever it is I am going to do it and celebrate it.

I posted a question on my Facebook page for friends and family who know me. I asked for suggestions of things that I might want to do. The answers came in and some of them made me cringe, some I have already done and some made me howl with laughter.

 

blogpic4

So, here goes the 50 fabulous things list starts here. I have set up a page to record them all. I may be changing the look of the page as I categorise things. I will add things, I might take things away but I wiill always try to link things on my list to a blog post to let you know how I get on. The year starts from the 1st December. This will also link with my wish list page.

When I asked my friends what they thought that I should do the answers came in thick and fast. Below are some of the suggestions. Some made me cringe, some had me howling laughing and some even reflected what I had already been thinking about. Here is what they said (and my thoughts in purple). I am sure that you will find it fascinating the different things that people came up with. I hope that I dont offend anybody with the things that just dont interest me. My life is on a meter now so I only want to fill it with things that interest me, even if it is only a tiny way.

So this is a start to the year.  Here is to the adventure. How might you celebrate your coming year?

Leave a Reply

