Tags

, , ,

IMG_6570

It hasn’t beeen easy writing this post because as I have been typing Max has been attempting to get on my knee. He is really craving attention at the moment and so, with that in mind I put the computer to one side and got down onto the floor with him for a cuddle. He was rather happy with that and now he is snoring in front of the fire!

IMG_6503

He has been a bit out of sorts lately for all kinds of reasons but he is also getting old. As he spent  most of today choosing to snooze on his bed at the top of the stairs I am more than happy to give him the attention when he asks for it. Cuddles are always good for the heart.

I digress. It has been quite some time since I have been able to spend  quality time in the kitchen but this last few days I have made a real effort to get creative. Tonight I raided the cupboards, vegetable rack and the fridge coming up with a host of lovely things. After a bit of thought I settled on these ingredients:

IMG_6558

and then remembered some shortcrust pastry I had in the fridge.

I have said it before and I will say it again. I dont do measuring so I am afraid that if you want to copy this recipe you will have to work that out for yourself.

Here is what I found in my raid :

  • chestnut mushrooms
  • button mushrooms
  • spinach
  • blue cheese
  • nutmeg
  • onion
  • shortcust pastry
  • fresh thyme

And here is what I did

IMG_6557

Fried off the onions with a little butter and vegetable oil then added the mushrooms and fried off a little more. Set the mushrooms aside added a bit more butter and wilted the spinach. Grated the nutmeg into the spinach and then set this aside

IMG_6560

dusted the work top with flour and picked off the thyme leaves, scattering them onto the flour

IMG_6561

rolled out the pastry over the thyme

IMG_6559

Added all of the ingredients into the centre of the pastry then baked in the oven for 30 minutes.

I served it with more wilted spinach and some sweet potatoe wedges. It was quite tasty although I think that the blue cheese was a little overpowering so next time I would probably use a different type of blue cheese or leave it out altogether.

And now I am relaxing with a nice glass of elderflower and rose water listening to Mahler feeling rather pleased with myself.

What have you done today to make yourself feel pleased.

