Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I promised to do more Shabby Saturday posts and I appear to have failed miserably. Sometimes life just takes over.

I have been busy with my paintbrush though and I have been really enjoying it. I had a trip to Wales a few weeks ago where I used to live and I couldnt resist stopping off in a couple of my favourite charity/second hand furniture shops. Needless to say I arrived home with a boot load of “stuff”

IMG_0987

 

One of my favourite pieces was this vintage pine washstand

IMG_0990

Taking my inspiration from the weekend’s beachcombing expedition I set out to paint this piece in a driftwood style colourway

IMG_1333Having no idea what I was doing I started by mixing some colours and testing them out on a small piece of wood. Happy with my plan I progressed slowly adding layer upon layer of Annie Sloan Chalk Paints some watered down, others thinly and some simply dry brushed

IMG_1329

IMG_1331

IMG_1329

It was certainly a labour of love.

Finally adding layers of clear and dark wax with lots of polishing I was pleased with the end result.

IMG_1339 IMG_1336As much as it pains me I am delivering her to her new home tomorrow. I loved this piece and would have loved to take it to Austria with me (more on that later) but I am sure that I will find an equally inspiring piece to do when I am there.

I still cannot believe that people are happy to pay for my own reloved creations. Maybe I can turn my hobby into something more one day.

So, what have you created lately? Care to share?

 

