Talking about and acknowleding the events of the last 24 hours seem to be a natural conclusion to the blog that I started all those years ago when I moved to Wales. I wanted the last post ever to be a happy one, full of optimism and looking forward to new adventures in Austria. I will, of course regain my optimism and have lots of new adventures to share on my new blog but this post will be all about endings.

A week ago I arrived in Austria after leaving my job and packing up my belongings to join David and Max who were already living in Austria full time. For those of you who have followed my blog for some time you will know how much a part of our  life  Max was, he was more than a dog, but then all dog lovers will say that.  Last night Max passed away and I shared the news on my Facebook page for my friends and family

IMG_2893

I have been completely and utterly overwhelmed with messages, emails and texts from people showing me their support and love after Max passed away. I always knew that he was a very special soul and others often said what a gentledog he was but I never really realised the joy and smiles that he brought to so many people. I am sorry that his passing has brought tears to all of those people who contacted me today.

I always knew that I would outlive Max (as I have all the other wonderful dogs that have shared my life). The pain of losing a friend never lessens (be it fur or human)  however to not have allowed myself to take the chance on that pain would have meant that I would have been robbed of 10 wonderful years of companionship, uncondtional love and blind faith in me. Not to mention the lessons he taught me. This last few months I have learned from him how to live in the moment as I observed him moving from pain to chasing a stick with true abandoment not even contemplating the pain that would return twofold. In the last week he taught me persistence, loyalty and tenacity. These are only a snippet of what he brought to my life.

When I arrived last week Max was overjoyed to see me, his love shone from his eyes and through the wag of his tail and the lick of his tongue. I am so honoured and blessed to have had that love in my life. He was with me 24/7 and I knew that he was pleased to have me home.

I brought him home almost 11 years ago wrapped in a towel and holding him close as we drove away from the kennels. Ever since he has  loved his towel time. It was his comfort blanket and his fun session in equal measures.  Last night when I realised that he was leaving me I wrapped him in his towel and we sat together having tum rubs and snuggles. He left the world  as gently as he lived in it and  as happy as always was. I know this from the look in his eyes and the snuggling of his head into my lap just before he closed his eyes and drifted to sleep.

Now it is time to allow myself a period of grieving and then I will move forward, always knowing that I have a friend in my heart and a mate in my soul.

May your spirit soar Max Moo.

Reasons to be Cheerful Part 1

When it hurts to look back and you're scared to look ahead, look beside you and your best friend will be there.

When it hurts to look back and you’re scared to look ahead, look beside you and your best friend will be there.

For more photos and words check out here.

