I thought that I might start my day with a post that, instead of celebrating the day, will help me to look forward to my day. Anticipate the wonders that are out there, excite my sense of being and help me to focus on enjoying the moments that will be. And so, with that in mind, I headed over to the simplewomansdaybook to join in……… 




FOR TODAY

Outside my window the mist is rising from the hills allowing the sun to peek through. The sheep are baahing as the lambs gambol behind them. 

I am thinking how beautiful the village looks at this time of the morning. 

I am thankful for the birdsong being so loud as to wake me early enough to enjoy the wonder that is early morning peacefulness

In the kitchen the table is set for breakfast, the kettle is bubbling away on the stove and the smell of homemade marmalade is making me salivate.

I am wearing  my green with pink spots, cuddly, warm, fleecy, hooded dressing gown over my butterfly printed fleecy pjs and pink furry bootees. So cosy and warm and very indulgent on a beautiful Saturday morning. 

I am creating a cocoon of cushions around me on the sofa and a plan for the day 

I am going to  take my camera to the prom, sit at the outdoor cafe, indulge in a little people watching and shoot a few sneaky shots of interesting goings on.

I am wondering what the people, who I am taking skiing next week, will be like. Will I get on with them? Will they like me? 6 days and 24 hours a day is a long time to spend with people who you have never met before. 

I am reading Pride and Prejudice. It is a long time since I read it and, thanks to a lovely lady whom I know has just read it,  I decided to revisit an old favourite. 

I am hoping that Max will wake up soon so that I can take him for an amble to the forest to watch the squirrels and birds playing

I am looking forward to taking some time away from “working” life. The kind that causes me to be very stressed, not the kind that brings satisfaction and a sense of achievement. You know the kind: a job that you fell into by accident, a job you do because others (parents, teachers, partners) expected you to do, a job that doesn’t excite the senses any more,  a day of trudgery and Pahs and if only’s………… well I have been brave and decided that just isn’t for me anymore. I am not sure what is for me right now but I trust in myself and I am happy that I made that decision. 


I am learning that life is very short. That I should make the most of every moment and appreciate everybody in my life, including that boss that drives me potty. 

Around the house  Max’s cuddly toys are strewn across the living room floor. I guess he couldn’t decide which one to cuddle last night so he tried them all 


I am pondering how to make this the best year of my life. I have spent many hours with notebooks, coloured pencils, travel books, campervan pictures, calculators and perusing the internet. I am wrestling with my conscience about whether I can take a few months out and finally follow my dream of travelling around Europe in a campervan. 

A favorite quote for today…  “If you don’t know where you are going, any road will get you there” – Lewis Carroll


One of my favorite things is when the postman arrives at the door and actually knocks.  Max barks excitedly and rushes through the kitchen wagging his tail, I scurry through trying to find the keys on the hook, then a little dance ensues in an attempt to get around Max and through the door to the hall, he wants to push through behind me. I finally get to the door fiddle with the keys and eventually pull the door wide to a beaming postman who always says that he loves the sound of commotion and waits in anticipation for the moment when I appear all befuddled. BUT the best bit about the postman knocking is that he always has a parcel. Today it is my new book Romancing the Ordinary   brought to my attention by the lovely lady over at Strings,Wings and Things. I have never met this beautiful person in real life but she was there for me at a low point in my life and I will be forever grateful for little pearls of wisdom that she shared. 

A few plans for the rest of the week:  Walks on the prom and in the forest, packing to go to Austria, a visit to Carmarthen, remembering to kiss my partner and tell him that I love and appreciate him every day. 

A peek into my day…